Latest version of European maps for Garmin zumo arrived at 2015.40 & how I try to solve the failing of installing the map update

*** updated 2015.04.06 rev. 1 ***

Garmin_West-Europe_overviewGarmin Express, which had several updates over the recent months on my iMac, warned me that there are new map updates available for Europe. Newest version is numbered 2015.40. When hooking up my zumo 660, Garmin Express was of the opinion that installed 2015.20 on my navigation system was the latest version as it mentions nothing was there to update. Trying to “reinstall” map version 2015.40 goes during download to a fail, so that appears not to be a proper work around. Garmin software and updates was a few years ago an easy operation, but since the introduction and switch to Garmin Express it has become problematic at the least.

Garmin Zumo 660When looking into the issue, I remembered the numberous updates I had seen passing by over the recent months of Garmin Express for the Mac and I then noticed that the version had made one major jump from version 3 to version 4. So I decided to uninstall Garmin manually and reinstall version 3 of Garmin Express with the steps below (also added it for Windows when you come across the same problem):

You might need to reboot your Mac / PC in case you are not able to delete some files or empty them from your trash.

At the moment the update of the map on my zumo 660 is running under the previous version of Garmin Express, and so far all looks good. I will update this post at the moment it has completed successfully or in case it failed again. I hope that my procedure helps you in case you have the same or similar issues.

*** update 2015.03.15 ***

I have tried so far 3 versions of Garmin Express on 2 Mac machines, and all continue to fail with no further details on why it failed. Since the switch to Garmin Express, Garmin has gone into a wrong path as updating maps used to be easy in the past, and has now turned into a time-consuming and frustrating process for its customers. I will continue to try to get map 2015.40 onto my zumo 660 and share the progress.

*** update 2015.03.15 rev. 2 ***

After repeatitive failures to get the new 2015.40 maps on my zumo, I started to dig a little around. I was able to get with Garmin Express version 3.2.30.0 for Mac further with some Forced Killing of the program to the point that it managed to fully download the map update. For this I had to disable TimeMachine which appearantly starts to interfere during the download process. With all downloaded, the Garmin Express app fails on creation of the map-files as it can not access a temporary folder. I tried even with administrator rights granted to my username, but same issue remains. I have started postings on the Garmin support forums and come across others having the same issues. To be continued …

*** update 2015.03.15 rev. 3 ***

After having tried a lot of different things and different versions of the software, I call it a day. It has taken me 9 hours so far without result. I left a message on Garmin support forum and hope they come up with a solution. My last try was to do a clean install of Garmin Express 3.2.29.0, keep TimeMachine disabled, and run as administrator. Result is that after some download, Garmin Express stops downloading and starts to eat memory and starts max’ng out my CPU. See image below.

Schermafbeelding 2015-03-15 om 13.40.16

*** update 2015.03.17 rev. 1 ***

I just got word from Garmin support that there is an issue with the European map update. They are looking into it in order to iron the issues out.

*** update 2015.04.06 rev. 1 ***

Having a new iMac (quad-core i5 @2.9 GHz and 8 GB of RAM) installed and some time on hand, I thought to give it another try. Now all worked out just fine and Garmin Express (version 4.0.11.0) installed the new maps without issues.

This entry was posted in Garmin, Navigation, News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment