Schuberth SRC Pro issue

Schuberth_SCRS_PRO_unboxedI already had blogged about the issues I am having with my Schuberth SRC Pro system. After roughly 2 hours of operation time, the communication set closes itself down and hangs itself up. This means that all LEDs go out, no sound is being heard anymore (no radio / navigation messages / telephone calls / smartphone media), and the Schuberth SRC Pro will not respond anymore to pressing buttons to start it up again. The only way to get it responsive again, is by connecting it to power (power outlet or USB battery) which lets it reset itself.

Schuberth was nice enough to send a new device, after having checked my previous one before. Issue, unfortunately, is also present on the new device. This means that there is another root cause … one not identified yet, and not hardware related.

My set-up in which above described issue occurs is:

  • Schuberth SRC Pro for C3 Pro. Firmware is v1.1 (most recent, and to the best of my knowledge has not changed anymore since Dec. 2015 … to be verified)
  • Garmin zumo 660. Firmware is v5.10 (most recent), and has not changed anymore since June 23, 2014
  • iPhone 6 / iPhone 5S. iOS version is 9.3.1 (I just updated to 9.3.2, which just came available)
  • Apple Watch paired to iPhone 6 / 5S. WatchOS is version 2.2 (most recent)
  • For setting up the Schuberth SRC Pro, I use Mac OS X 10.11.4 together with Cardo Community Updater 2.0. Other solution I use for setting up is the official Cardo app version 3.0.1 (most recent version)

Logically, following root causes can be ruled out:

  • Garmin zumo 660, as firmware has not changed anymore since 2014

Potential root causes:

  • Schuberth SRC Pro : firmware not robust enough to deal with new updates to iOS
  • iPhone 6 / 5S / iOS : update from 9.2 to 9.3 happened in March 2016, so inline with time in which my issues start to become noticeable. I could check this by driving w/o Bluetooth active on my iPhone. Also new iOS 9.3.2 can be tested: maybe improvements to the Bluetooth stack?
  • Apple WatchOS : update also in March 2016. Maybe the simultanious connection to iPhone + new version of both negatively impacts Bluetooth information exchange. I could test this easily by going for a long drive without Apple Watch
  • Cardo Community Updater 2.0 : I had recorded to have updated this in February 2016 due to Mac OS X upgrade to El Capitan / 10.11. Old Cardo Community Updater was not compatible with El Capitan / 10.11. I could test this potential root cause by setting Schuberth SRC Pro up under Windows 10

Anybody of you having same / similar issues?

I will get in touch with Schuberth support tomorrow to see how to resolve.

Issue is resolved. You can read the solution on this page: Schuberth SRCS Pro issue resolved: my mistake!

This entry was posted in Bluetooth, iOS, Schuberth, Technical, Test. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Schuberth SRC Pro issue

  1. Pingback: Schuberth SRCS Pro issue resolved: my mistake! | Tour On 2 Wheels

  2. Peter says:

    That’s too bad. I’ve been holding back buying this for my C3 Pro due to others as well having strange issues. I love how neatly this integrates into the helmet but it’s of no value if it doesn’t work. Did you get this resolved?

  3. Yes, it got resolved.
    Mistake was on my end. You can read my fault described in the link at the end of the article.
    Do I find the SRCS perfect: no, but some things are better than in universal sets like the radio.

  4. DeMario CROSBY says:

    I’ve enjoyed this SRC system in my C3 Pro for about 3 years now. Works like a charm. Initially I had issues with it shorting out, yet that was resolved by the manufacture and it’s been some nice enjoyable smooth riding ever since (2013, BMW s1000rr)

  5. Alejandro says:

    Thank you for your post guys. I will give it a chance to the C3 Pro with the comunication system. Then I can compare it with my Nolan N104 with the NCOM B4 and let you guys know my thoughts.

Leave a comment