Schuberth SRCS Pro issue resolved: my mistake!

Schuberth_SCRS_PRO_unboxedThe issues I was having with the Schuberth SRC Pro system is resolved: I had wrongly used the pairing method explained in the PDF for the Schuberth SCR system instead of the Schuberth SCR Pro system. When correctly pairing as described in the documentation for the SRCS PRO, all goes well.

The correct method is:

  • start up your SRC Pro system
  • pair your GPS (like Garmin / TomTom) by keeping for 5 seconds the [-] button pressed till both [+] and [-] buttons start to rapidly blinking red and blue. Then, and this is crucial, you need to press shortly the [+] button to make the SRCS Pro aware that you are pairing a GPS instead of a mobile phone. Both the [+] and [-] buttons will start blinking slower red and blue. Now you can let your GPS unit search for nearby devices, select your SRCS Pro unit, and when requested for entering a PIN/password then enter 0000.
  • pair you mobile phone by keeping for 5 seconds the [+] button pressed till both [+] and [-] buttons start to rapidly blinking red and blue. Now you can let your mobile phone / smart phone search for nearby devices, select your SRCS Pro unit, and when requested for entering a PIN/password then enter 0000.

That’s all.

Description of the issues I was having with my Schuberth SRCS Pro: after roughly 2 hours of operation time, the communication set closes itself down and hangs itself up. This means that all LEDs go out, no sound is being heard anymore (no radio / navigation messages / telephone calls / smartphone media), and the Schuberth SRC Pro will not respond anymore to pressing buttons to start it up again. The only way to get it responsive again, is by connecting it to power (power outlet or USB battery) which lets it reset itself.

Whole history of blogs (in chronological order) on this topic are here:

This entry was posted in Blog, Bluetooth, Schuberth, Technical. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Schuberth SRCS Pro issue resolved: my mistake!

  1. Pingback: Schuberth SRC Pro issue | Tour On 2 Wheels

  2. Pingback: Disappointed with Schuberth product performance and service | Tour On 2 Wheels

  3. Jari says:

    Hi, I’m very satisfied this post. I have a similar problem with SRC – Garmin – IPhone – Midland. Just like to you problem. Now I read your post and I am so happy. I will test this rule tomorrow. Thank you so much.

    Jari
    From Finland

    • keimpe says:

      I could not connect to my handy and I still can find the description to use the + and – buttons to connect. Only the description about the handy button to connect. After reading this post it immediately workt to connect. Thanks. Probably the manual is not good.

  4. Stuart Hopkinson says:

    Excellent, this happened to me on Sunday on the way home from British Superbikes @ Donington Park; SRC on my new E1 helmet shut down and could only be re-started by means of reconnection to a power supply.
    I was going to return it to Schuberth; but hopefully you have saved me this inconvenience.

    Thank you

  5. Filippo says:

    Hi, have you found out from Schuberth if v1.1 is indeed the latest one?

    Thank you

  6. Patrik says:

    Stumbled upon this post of yours when simply trying to pair the SRC to my mobile phone. The instructions said to hold the mobile/music button for 5 seconds – but it’s the minus button, like you write. Ridiculous! Thank you!!

  7. Steven Hull says:

    Hi I’m having a few problems with my src pro as well not quite the same but mine works ko for a short while the music tends to keep cutting in and out then after an announcement or a camera alert from the GPS it just goes quiet and won’t respond but will then come back to life if you leave it alone for a while but when it does for some reason the left hand speaker volume drops down so low compared the right speaker and gives the impression the left ones not working and can only be rectified by switching the device off and on again, I’m wondering the problems I’m have are down the fact it’s not paired up correctly. I’m going to try what you did but do need to remove all pairs on GPS and smartphone first and reset the src pro? I also have a very poor radio reception and it doesn’t seem to make and difference what I do and the rds make no difference whether it on or off, would you have any ideas?
    Many thanks

    Steve. . . Uk

    • The first thing which comes to mind is poor antenna connection, especially as you complain about poor radio signal.
      The receiving capability of the SRC is poorer than one build in your car. So signal quality and sensibility of the FM radio is not great. It is better than most systems w/o an antenna integrated in the helmet.
      I hope your issue is resolved soon. Alternatively you could contact Schuberth: they are very responsive on issues and complaints.

  8. Strickly Observing says:

    I appreciate this post big-time. Forgot all about the 2 channels and was beating my head reading the wrong instructions, wondering why a new phone wouldn’t pair… Reading through 30 pages of instructions for simple things like this is so aggravating THANK YOU!

  9. easyrida2 says:

    Hey i have a question. Did you pair the Schuberth SRCS Pro with the Nolan N-com and did it work?
    cheers

    • No, I have not tried and I can not try is anymore as my Nolan n-com has died.
      I am pretty sure you can not pair them.

      • easyrida2 says:

        Thanks for the fast reply. My dad got himself a Schuberth with the SRCS C3 Pro and i am looking for a good communication system i can use on my Nolan N86, which is compatible with his. Do you have a suggestion?

      • The Schuberth SRCS C3 Pro is developed and produced by Cardo. So Cardo would be, in my opinion, the best shot for a compatible system. When checking the Cardo site, I came across this page: http://cardosystems.com/src/
        There might be other communication units which are able to connect/communicate multi-brand, and I can remember that there was one brand which lets the multi-brand connection run via an app on your smartphone. I can not remember the manufacturer of this set.
        I hope this helps you further.

  10. EuropeanBiker says:

    Having the combination C3Pro/SRC Pro for 2 month now, I’m pretty disappointed about the system. I’m having the same problems with pairing, but the terrible voices is another issue. As to pairing, the manual says to press the + button 5 sec to connect to canal 1 and press the – button to connect to canal 2.I noticed my GPS connects much faster to the SRC through canal 2. In my search for a solution of the poor voices, I restart, reconnect and reset a lot and have noticed various reactions: sometimes pairing is done quickly, sometimes it seems to hang, sometimes I’m asked for a code, most of the time not, sometimes I need to restart the GPS and then suddenly the pairing seems complete. Connected or not, is the question. The poor voices make it almost impossible to navigate. The problem is already discussed on the internet, without a solution though. I send Schuberth an email with my complaints and research. Taking into account the costs and presumed quality, one might at least expect you could use it as it was meant to: to navigate. Awaiting respons.

    • I am curious on the feedback and support that Schuberth has given you. My experience has been good on their will to solve the issue(s).
      I agree with you that the SRC performance is mediocre, or at least not living up to my expectation.

  11. Martin says:

    Hi, when connecting my phone (huawei P20) to my S2 SRC system, it recognises the phone as a GPS device, not a mobile phone???? Connecting as a GPS device does not allow my phone to work correctly. Any thoughts or help would be much appreciated!

  12. Martin says:

    Hi, when connecting my phone (huawei P20) to my S2 SRC system, it recognises the phone as a GPS device, not a mobile phone???? Connecting as a GPS device does not allow my phone to work correctly. Any thoughts or help would be much appreciated!

    • I assume that you have the Schuberth SRC system for the S2 helmet. I do not have that one, but I have downloaded the German manual from their website as I want to eliminate translation issues which sometimes happen in their manuals (own experience). According to the manual both the SRC system for an S2 helmet and my C3 Pro are the same, so same procedure. With that I assume that you might have paired the smartphone wrongly, as I had done in the past. So let me describe here below.

      For pairing with a mobile phone / smartphone, following steps need to be taken:
      1. Delete your pairing with the SRC system from your Huawei P20.
      2. Keep the mobile phone button on your SRC system pressed for 6 seconds (this is the second button when looking from the front side of your helmet), till you get rapid blue / red blinking LED(s). Now your SRC system is ready for pairing a mobile phone.
      3. Search for the SRC System in your Huawei P20 and select it for pairing. In case a password/PIN is necessary then you can use 0000 (this is 4 times the number zero).
      4. When pairing was successful, then the LED(s) should be slow blinking blue.
      Above is specific for pairing a mobile phone, which uses a different Bluetooth protocol.

      For pairing a navigation system the procedure is nearly identical but you need to press another button on your SRC system. Procedure is as follows:
      1. When already paired, then delete your pairing with the SRC system from your navigation system in the Bluetooth settings menu.
      2. Keep the (+)-button / volume up button on your SRC system pressed for 6 seconds (this is the fourth button when looking from the front side of your helmet), till you get rapid blue / red blinking LED(s). Now your SRC system is ready for pairing a navigation system.
      3. Search for the SRC System in your navigation system and select it for pairing. In case a password/PIN is necessary then you can use 0000 (this is 4 times the number zero).
      4. When pairing was successful, then the LED(s) should be slow blinking blue.

      Alternative solution to the above, is to have you mobile phone connection run via your navigation system (when it supports that of course). Then you only need to do the step above for the navigation and delete the Bluetooth pairing with your SRC system from your Huawei P20. Your navigation system will then handle the connection. Disadvantage is that you always need to have your navigation system with you and running for being able to make calls with your SRC system when motorcycling. As I do not always drive with my navigation system with me, I let the SRC system handle both smartphone + navigation connections.

  13. Alwyn says:

    Very excited to try this tomorrow. I’ve been struggling useless SRC and even worse user manual for ages! Schuberth SRC/ garmin zumo 395/ IPhone 8+

Leave a comment